How much does your name mean to you?

I like my name. A lot. Especially my first name. And my full name says a lot about my family and my ethnicity etc., which is great. But HOW important is my name really, and would I mind if it was any different?

Btw, if you guys like mindblowing and cool videos, I suggest you check out the channel Vsauce, if you haven’t already. Here’s his video on names, which is pretty damn cool.

What if I changed my name?

Alright, so I’m not gonna go into detail, but for reasons I have considered changing my name (and I still might). To be specific, my last name. But how would that affect me, and do I really care about my last name? Hmmm, I honestly wouldn’t say so. Sure, my last name has become a part of me throughout my last 18 years of existence, but I wouldn’t stress too much about changing it to another name.

Since this is how I feel towards my own last name, I didn’t think about it very deeply. But when I asked my younger sister whether she (again, for reasons) would consider changing her last name along with me, she immediately said no. To her, her last name was really a big part of her identity, and she couldn’t even imagine changing it. Interesting, huh? I’ve witnessed several people throughout my life who have gotten either new first or last names. Some people reacted very strongly to it (and hated the idea of having to refer to them differently), whereas others didn’t break a single sweat (this is mostly how I react to it).

And then I thought about the future, if I were to marry one day. Would I switch out my last name to that of my husband’s? Hmmm, I thought, that would depend on the name, wouldn’t it xD? If I liked it, sure, I would change it. But if not, I would probably just keep my own name and maybe make him switch his name instead if he wanted to.

Do you like your name? What does it mean to you, and how would you think about changing it? Lemme know your thoughts !

Thanks for reading,

  • Emmy ❤ ❤
Leave a Reply

