Something About Durians

Durian. Oh, the durian. A true legend when it comes to fruits.

The Childhood Stories

As a child, my parents would often tell me stories about their adventures in Asia back in the beginning of the 90’s. Their stories were so exciting, and are one of the main reasons I am obsessed with travelling to this day.

But especially back then, I was intrigued by the Legendย of the Durian. My parents told me that it was this spikey fruit, which smelled like a garbage can. Also, if you consumed alcohol after eating it, you could die(!). In Singapore, it was forbidden to bring it with you in the buses orย in the trains. However! My parents said that the fruit was extremely delicious and that my dad would eat them all the time. Even in ice cream form! So my parents bought loads of durians to bring home with them to Denmark. However, since durians smell really bad, they weren’t allowed to bring them along to the airport ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Ever since then, my sisters and I had been dreaming of trying this fruit. It was like a main goal in life!

Trying Out the Durian

Finally, as an 18 year old, I visited Singapore for the first time last Christmas. There were a lot of things that I wanted to try, but I had one major goal. Eating a durian. The first time I encountered a durian was in Little India. I walked around the fruit market and there i saw them. The durians! They smelled really bad, but not as bad as I would’ve thought. The stories had maybe been slightly exaggerated. However, that doesn’t mean that the durians didn’t smell bad, because they definitely did.

Some days later, a friend of my dad’s bought us all a round of durians. As previously mentioned, durians are not allowed on buses, so we had to smuggle them home without anyone noticing. Luckily, we succeeded!ย Now was the time. Finally. I had been waiting for this my entire life!

So I tasted it. It was hot out, so the fruit was a little bit warm. I’ve heard that they taste better when they’re a bit cool. It tasted like onions. I’m not kidding, I seriously think they taste like sweet onions. I don’t know about other people, but it’s the only thing I can think of. Onions. With a little twist of durian, I guess.

So, Do I Like Durians?

Do I like the taste of durians? I guess so. I’m not sure how much I like it. It didn’t taste as good as I imagined, but it tasted better the more I ate it. Well, I guess I do actually quite like it. I also bought some pastries with durian filling. They were great too! Next time I go to a country that sells durians, I’ll probably buy it again for the kicks and giggles. Anyways, I’m happy to have reached one of my main goals here in life. I see the durian as the king of all fruits.

Have YOU Tried Durians?

Have YOU tried eating a durian? If no, would you want to? If yes, did you like it? What about in ice cream or candy form? Lemme know ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Emmy
10 thoughts on “Something About Durians

  1. amoredelcibo says:

    One of my students gave me a pack of dried Durian from China. I’ve tried eating it but I just can’t handle the taste… I wonder if fresh Durian would taste better? There aren’t many foods at all that I can’t handle!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Faye Q says:

    Love durians! Eating it fresh from the fruit is probably the best tasting. If you find that too strong durian ice cream is a great alternative! Thanks for the follow too, glad it led me to your blog. Looking forward to more ๐Ÿ™‚ – Faye

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

